Home > Certificate IV in IT

Certificate IV in Information Technology

Certificate IV in Information Technology

Qualification Code: ICT40120 | CRICOS Course Code: 103189C

This qualification reflects the role of individuals who are job ready and competent in a wide range of information and communications technology (ICT) roles and apply a broad range of skills in varied work contexts, using problem solving skills and effective communication with others.

This skills required for these roles may include, but are not restricted to:

  • data development: interpreting specifications, technical designs and flow charts, modifying software applications, constructing technical specifications from models and testing, and writing technical documents
  • database maintenance: managing, cleaning, storing and verifying organisational data, and evaluating compliance with internal and external data ethics regulations and legislation
  • gaming development: creating 2D and 3D modelling and animation software through scripts and storyboards
  • networking: installing, configuring and testing networks and servers in organisations
  • programming: building, testing and applying basic object-oriented language skills, user interfaces and software developments
  • systems administration support: implementing maintenance procedures and support to help troubleshoot system applications
  • Web development: designing website layouts through textual and visual content transfer, search engine optimisation and simple markup language documents.

The total duration will be 52 weeks including the breaks. See: Academic Calendar & Fees
At the end of the course the student will have fulfilled the necessary competencies required to gain the ICT40120 Certificate IV Information Technology.
  • After achieving the ICT40120 Certificate IV Information Technology, candidates may undertake the ICT50220 Diploma of Information Technology or a range of other Diploma qualifications.
  • Possible job titles relevant to this qualification include:
    • Junior Computer Technician
    • Junior Customer support
    • Junior Information systems operator
    • Junior PC support
    • Junior Systems administrator
    • Junior Systems support
    • Junior Technical support
    • Junior User support technician
  • Junior Computer technician
  • Junior Customer support
  • Junior Customer support professional
  • Junior Information systems operator
  • Junior PC support
  • Junior Systems administrator
  • Junior Systems support
  • Junior Technical support
  • Junior User support technician
All Students MUST
  • Be 18 years of age or over
  • Have completed NSW Higher School Certificate (Year 11) or equivalent
International Students MUST
  • Have an English ability at the IELTS (International English Language Testing System) level 5.0 or equivalent.

Course Structure

Total 20 units must be completed in order to successfully achieve this qualification. 7 core units of competency AND 13 elective units of competency

Unit CodeUnit Name
BSBCRT404 Apply advanced critical thinking to work processes
BSBXCS404 Contribute to cyber security risk management
ICTICT426 Identify and evaluate emerging technologies and practices
ICTICT443 Work collaboratively in the ICT industry
ICTICT451 Comply with IP, ethics and privacy policies in ICT environments
ICTPRG302Apply introductory programming techniques
ICTSAS432Identify and resolve client ICT problems
ICTPRG434Automate processes
ICTPRG430 Apply introductory object-oriented language skills
ICTPRG441 Apply skills in object-oriented design
ICTPRG446 Prepare software development review
ICTICT430 Apply software development methodologies
ICTICT435 Create technical documentation
ICTICT441 Provide one-to-one instruction
ICTSAD402Develop and present ICT feasibility reports
ICTWEB441 Produce basic client-side script
ICTWEB444Create responsive website layouts
ICTWEB447 Build basic website using development software and ICT tools
ICTWEB452 Create a markup language document
ICTPMG411 Support small scale ICT projects

wanna study with us ?